God, my porter!

Most people love travel.  To broaden their horizons, to beat the “frog in the well” syndrome; to quench curiosity, and experience the sheer diversity of our universe.Lets face it, life is a journey.  It takes us through many a winding path, before we reach our destination. ( Rarely, in my experience, is a journey a straight line.)And when we travel, to explore our world, we pack our bags with essentials, before we leave.  What we pack depends on who we are, our life styles and habits.From the mundane: clothes, footwear, make up kits, books to read; to the fussy:  bottles of wine,  favorite whisky, and snacks (for foodies!).

Not to forget the SLR.  More people travel with heavier baggage, than they would like to; thanks to a sense of insecurity, of leaving something behind!As a boy, I have seen this sign, across all coaches on our trains:  less luggage and more comfort, makes travel a pleasure.  Advice that is more flouted than followed! Admittedly, I brazenly flout this advice even today; always end up packing more stuff than needed.

 

At our train stations, porters carrying baggage on their heads, shoulders, and lifting heavy suitcases, is a common sight even today; despite the advent of trolleys. Years of experience have taught the porter to carry heavy stuff and do a fine balancing act, as he walks briskly toward the specific compartment.

If one is traveling by train, invariably, the baggage is stored in overhead racks, or under the seats.  (Trains in the developed world might have baggage racks.)

Air travel provides two options:  cabin bags or checked in to the aircraft (baggage hold.).  When our journey begins, we don’t carry any of our bags,  for as long as the journey.

If I were to( liken ) life`s journey to actual travel, we are light, comfortable, and relaxed as we enjoy the ride (in case of actual travel.).

 

Moving on to life`s journey– we have accumulated baggage, over the years, carrying our stuff wherever we go. We have setbacks, disappointments, resentments and pain.  Mainly from our unresolved past.  We carry scars from relationships gone sour. For some strange reason, we have chosen to be right, and archive our resentments, as it were; than forgive and forget.  All of this results in carrying excess baggage.  Modern day travel sets limits on baggage  by weight. Reduce the weight, or pay–isn’t this true in life, as well?   We forget the need to let go.  Instead, we ego.   Little wonder, then, we don’t seem to enjoy life.  I have learnt that the later years of our lives, are spent regretting what we didn’t do, rather than celebrate what we did.  In this fast world, isn’t  it time to slow down?  Do we spend time reflecting?  Do we examine the weight of  the stuff we are carrying?  Is the price paid by us too high, forsaking happiness,  and peace?  Are we victims of our baggage?

 

The way out?  I relate to God, my Creator, at many levels:  I pray, He answers;  He guides, I listen;  I ask, He gives;  I have problems, He solves them; and when I am in a spot of bother, He lends a helping hand.  Over the years, I have learnt to use Him as my Porter!  When I am stressed, it is a clear case of carrying excess baggage.  So, I drop my bags in His “cabin” and move on; feeling lighter, supported, and happier!  He carries my baggage for me, as I traverse road ahead.  I feel energized and better equipped for life`s journey.  I “let go” of my baggage and focus on being happy.  I am a journal freak!  I list my bags at the end of each day, and let go.  I surrender.  And I have felt immense joy, after assigning my baggage to My Porter!  I trust my Porter to handle my baggage with care, and leave me with essentials, only, for the road ahead.  I know He is my constant companion, wherever I go.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment